REMAX Sues Agent for Cybersquatting
The Las Vegas Sun reports that REMAX is suing Las Vegas real estate agent Christine Rosa Lefkowitz's company, C. Rosa, Inc. for wrongly registering more than 50 international Web site names such as "remaxbrazil.com," "remaxfrance.com" and "remaxsouthkorea.com."
The article says: "Lefkowitz on Tuesday said she was surprised that the lawsuit was filed and denied infringing on the RE/MAX trademark. She said the names were registered years ago -- but never activated -- when she hoped to establish RE/MAX businesses in Brazil and other nations."
Maybe so, but here's what Whois.com has to say today about one of the domains supposedly expired:
Registrant:
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain servers in listed order:
C Rosa Inc
Domain Name: REMAXSOUTHKOREA.COM
ns45.domaincontrol.com
ns46.domaincontrol.com


activated could also mean: online, webpage published, domain was never activated on server.
Interesting article. Will tweet this as well. My question is what would the benefit be for the agent to have these domain names ? I do not believe RE/MAX allows you to have an url with RE/MAX in the title anyway ?? Was the agent just looking to resell these domains ?
My guess would be that despite not being able to set up the actual Re/Max website on these URL’s, she certainly could have used them as domain forwarding to her actual website, therefore not technically breaking the rules.